Absolute Beginner

Discussion in 'General Sequencing' started by Hotpot, Jul 15, 2004.

1. Hotpot

Hotpot New Member

I've bought a music keyboard to midi up to my computer. The computer is pretty high spec 3.0Ghz Pentium etc and Audigy 2 soundcard. I am not a musician and cannot read music and have no musical experience but have tunes in my head that I want to translate to midi. I downloaded Anvil and had a good shot at laying down tracks but I find that my problem is always with the timing. It seems to get out of step with the metronome. This happens really with any riffs I create and enter a string of a certain riff, they suffer from accumulative error and eventually a minute timing problem is magnified by the 15th bar or so. If I quantize, it always seem to either alter the riff in an unfavourable way or sound totally ridiculous. How can I get these damn tunes down on computer? Would alternative software be more suitable for me? I don't want any pre-arranged stuff as I think that tends to limit your creativity. I just want to have a good dabble with some ideas. Anyone help?
  2. Graeme

Graeme New Member

If you are having a problem keeping time, then you're going to have to resort to the quantisation feature. From your description of what happens when you use it, I'd hazard a guess that you have the resolution incorrectly set. You have to juggle with this a little.

The downside of using quantisation is that it will make your music sound very 'mechanical', since it is the very slight variations in timing which mark the live performance. This might be OK for some genres of music, but certainly not for others.

One trick you can use is to set the tempo to half speed and then record your part at this slower rate - should make it easier for you. Once you have the part down, set the tempo to normal and transpose the part down an ocatve. Doing it this way will disguise any small timing errors on your part, since they are, effectively, halved.