Beginner: Slow at going from Chord to Chord

Discussion in 'Guitar' started by Pinoy4k, Feb 17, 2004.

1. Pinoy4k

Pinoy4k New Member

Hey....I started playing the guitar, but I got too frustrated and quit because it took way too long to go from chord to chord and I'd spend more time doing that than actually playing. I've been listening a lot and really want ot pick it back up though. ANy suggestions? Were yout he same way?
  2. Bladez26

Bladez26 New Member

Yep, I had two guitar teachers quit on me early on, Said my fingers were too short to do the chords properly. I have been playing in bands and solo work now for 20 years and have 8 guitars that I play every day.
    The teacher that taught me the most was from a little country school where she taught guitar during lunchtime.
    I remember she use to say take it slow and try and get your fingers to be like a spider when changing chords. Hard to explain without seeing it in action. Start slow moving each finger to the new position from the bottom string to the top string, then slowly speed up, try changing from a G chord to a C chord and back a few times. As you get a bit quicker try starting to move the second finger before the first one is in it's new place. like a spiders legs when it walks.
    Do this a few times then try changing from a C chord to a D chord. As you progress each day try adding another chord i.e. G to A to D and back. Don't worry what it sounds like just get used to changing from one chord to the next. Pretty soon it'll become second nature.
    Keep at it and good luck
  3. Anno_Anubus

Anno_Anubus New Member

It sounds less like your fingers were too short and more like you had bad teachers ;p

Bass guitar for me was the first instrument that I couldn't put down Pinoy, so maybe try that out until you can get into a full swing before moving back to guitar.
  4. Pinoy4k

Pinoy4k New Member