Best midi player

Discussion in 'General Sequencing' started by calsonik, Apr 16, 2004.

1. calsonik

calsonik New Member

Hi all.
    Ive been playing in a duo now for a few years, and Im just interested in the general opinion of others. I edit all my midi files on my computer and then record them to mini disc for playback.

Do many others use this same method or do most prefer the dedicated midi player?

I bought one when I first put the duo together, but it never saw the first gig. I found the mini disc so much more effecient.

Comments please!!!

Calsonic...
  2. saxmidiman

saxmidiman New Member

I use my laptop on stage as my midi player. I use midi because I've programed patch changes for vocals and guitars. I also have a programmed midi light show as well. It works for me, but I know a lot of people using mini disc, ipods or Cd's for onstage. It's just not the way I do things.
  3. calsonik

calsonik New Member

I guess everyone has thier own way. I tried CD's once. But they are prone to skipping all the time through vibration. Midi light show sounds cool though.
    Cheers
  4. khk

khk New Member

Music on stage - how?

Hi lads and gents,

I stay on stage since more as 25 years. By now, I'm using as well midis for our life perfomance by playing with a "Midi-Sequencer". Those devices are manufactored by many different factories, so here only one example to give to you: From the firm SYNTHAX "MIDIPLAYER MP 88" in combination with an ROLAND Sound Canvas (as sound module). I still work with this "Canvas-Family" and I'm very happy about his funtionallity and sounds!

The MIDIPLAYER includes a harddrive which make it possible to store lots of midis on it and allows you to retrieve any midi in a short time.

Midis on minidiscs do I use only as a backup-system if there should occur any problems with the modules.

I hope this short information helps you.

Regards,
    khk.
  5. saxmidiman

saxmidiman New Member