Converting .mp3 or .wav files to MIDI format

Discussion in 'Getting Started/New Member Help' started by ajax, Nov 6, 2003.

1. ajax

ajax New Member

Hi everyone,

I must confess - I'm rather new at this. I looked on the FAQ and couldn't find an answer.

Is it possible to convert .MP3 or .WAV files to MIDI format? I've tried searching for different software programs which do this and I've not had much luck.

Thanks for your help!

AJ
  2. Zandro

Zandro New Member

3. mrcmax

mrcmax New Member

thanks that helps..... a lot
  4. Droakir

Droakir New Member

Cool. I'll try that, too.
  5. hyelife

hyelife New Member

I dont think there is a way to convert mp3 or wave files to midi yet. And if you do youll never get a good quality.
  6. phantim

phantim New Member

Actually the FAQ only covers WAV to MIDI. You will, of course, need to convert your MP3 to WAV (easily done) THEN you can use the WAV to MIDI converter.
  7. trick

trick New Member

both the options in the FAQ are PC-only and cost money...

:(
  8. frchung

frchung New Member

Well the FAQ does mentionned a little bit that there's such software to convert WAV to MIDI. Though I've never tried that software myself, i believe it just analyzes the frequency (or pitch) of the sound, and also the duration, then translate that into musical notes, like what you see on music scores, which in fact what are the data in MIDI file information, mainly about.

Having a single instrument playing that sound would be easy to analyze, but if your sound is from a full band or orchestra and with vocals, I doubt that this software (or any software currently available) would able to distinguish the individual instruments and separate the musical notes to different channels on the MIDI file. It would need a very, very complex and advanced sound and instrument recognition algorithm to distinguish each instrument....(correct me if I'm wrong here)....