Do these sound okay?

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by sjj8171984, Aug 31, 2004.

1. sjj8171984

sjj8171984 New Member

I have a website with .wav files of me playing the keyboard. I add files every now and then, and as far as I know, they sound good. I need honest opinions from people who don't know me. That way, it avoids the whole "just being nice" thing.

Disclaimer - I am not a musician. I self-taught myself how to play the piano. It's for fun.

Anyhoo, there are some crazy stuff on the site.

Here's the link
  2. Zandro

Zandro New Member

I can easily fill in the other instruments mentally with your playing, so you've got the pieces down pat. :thumbsup: A trill here and there would soften the ridgeness of some songs, including the Tetris melody. My brother also plays by ear--he still does not know how to read sheet music, but plays some classics quite well. You're doing fine now, but he would find it much more rewarding to learn how to read sheet music for the long run.

On the technical side of things, you need to get your future songs encoded in MP3 or OGG, and you need a better synth. Straight WAV at low quality takes a while to upload and download, and ruins the potentially high quality of your music.

I have a completely free high-quality synth solution layed out for you. First, you should get a SoundFont engine. The hardware kind (EMU-10Kx) is the best, but there have been software alternatives made over the past few years, such as Timidity and SynthFont. Although SynthFont does not emulate hardware SoundFont engines perfectly, I think it is easy enough for anybody to use.

Download Synthfont from www.synthfont.com and load a SoundFont bank containing higher quality patches than what is usually available (GM.DLS :p ;)). Many SoundFonts are available online, but right now I also need someone I don't know to opinionate my work. Yesterday was the alpha release of my own SoundFont bank, ZSF GM v0.8a.

Download it here: