Export XG midi files to QY100

Discussion in 'Sequencing Hardware' started by bnjiman80, Sep 3, 2003.

1. bnjiman80

bnjiman80 Tangled Up In Blue

Hi

I'm trying to send midi files to my Yamaha QY100 which claims to support GM and SMF+XG.

Using my copy of Powertracks, I can only export to standard midi format. The QY100 demands the files are saved as type 0 midis or it will not load them.

This means the drum channel is ending up not on channel 10, when I play it through the box.

So either...

is there any free software that saves as XG format?

or

can I put in any commands to keep the drums on channel 10?

I'm really new to this, so please keep any replies simple!!
    Thanks alot
    Ben
  2. stevie_bees

stevie_bees New Member

I sometimes have similar problems exporting to my qy70. Would be interested in any replies on this subject. Sorry I can't help, don't seem to have as much time to sequence these days
  3. dj thaoboi

dj thaoboi New Member

yo wassup dis b thaoboi in da hizz house ahha
  4. bnjiman80

QY problems - have learnt some tricks

Hi Steve

I don't know if this will be exactly right for you but I imagine that the functions of the -70 and -100 are pretty similar...

What I have found is you can import your midi to the box. I think you have got this far.

The way to set the voices for each track is to go
    (Song Screen) => put cursor on track to set => menu => edit

you should see a list of events, maybe just notes.

make sure you are at the top and insert a message to tell the box to change voice. I have discovered this is a program change.