Guitar newbie (need help on a couple of things)

Discussion in 'Guitar' started by nova_, Nov 4, 2002.

1. nova_

nova_ New Member

Ok I have been playing the piano for 10 years (since I was 9)

And wanted to change cuz I love the guitar as well...you know? Most of the best songs are alternative, amd the way it sounds. My question is...What electric guitar and Amp should I buy?

Im wondering quality sound from the guitar ( but I dont want the best out there ...an average will do) And an Amp thats average not cheap but not expensive. Also an amp that can plug to your pc. So I can use programs like guitar pro. anyone recommend any good guitars and amps for what im looking for?

this will help me alot. if u can give me some advice.

Thanks in advance
  2. song demon

song demon New Member

Mmmmmm......

Well, personally, I started playing about 15 years ago and started on a cheap guitar that constantly went outta tune!! Don't make that mistake, whatever ya do!

It really depends what sort of sound you wanna go for, and the style/s you intend to learn.

Fender Strats *spits* are good for a more countryish sound, though, again personally, i hate 'em with a passion!

Gibsons are lovely guitars, but the necks can be a bit wide when you're starting out!

I use Ibanez guitars, myself..... they ain't too expensive, and one of 'em i've had for 14 years and wouldn't get rid of for any money!

You really gotta go and try a view different ones in the stores..... find one you feel comfy with.... both for weight, neck-size, whatever. Then see what sorta sound it makes.... the sound can vary drastically from one guitar to the other.... believe me!

As for amps..... again... it depends on what you feel comfy with, and what sorta sound you want! I use a coupla Marshalls (JCM2000 Ltd Ed Stack and a Valvestate 2000 Combo) which I love the sound of..... but i used to use a coupla Peavey combos, which were also very good!