How do I go about writing midi files?

Discussion in 'General Sequencing' started by music_2000, Jul 8, 2004.

1. music_2000

music_2000 New Member

How do I go about writing midi files? say I wanted to sequence a song lets say britany spears toxic would I just listen to the song over and over and try to rewrite the song on a sequencer or would I get a copy of the sheet music and try and do it by copying the sheet music into a seqencer. I'm really stuck here. I tried to do usher's Yeah but I couldn't find the right sounds and I wasn't in time. note the sequncer I currently use is Jazz++ and I do NOT have a midi keyboard at this point. as a pianist I also have the uncanny ability to listen to a song and play it back on the piano. :confused2 anyone help
  2. jeaniesing

jeaniesing Super Moderator Staff Member Super Mod

sounds like you need to GET a keyboard ;)...

I go with the first technique.... listen a lot and try to reproduce... don't worry about getting the sounds perfect the first time through... Myself? I'd lay down a big section of the bass line first... then start layering over it with the rest of the parts. I'm also hooked on combining GeneralMIDI sounds to get closer to the sound I want... by duplicating a track I've created to a second track then mixing, say, 2 guitar sounds. Others are way-into Soundfonts (which you'll have to research separately ;)). The only way to start is to start... Good Luck and keep asking questions... there're a lot more talented than me on this board!
  3. Graeme

Graeme New Member

You've really answered your own question. Get a midi keyboard - you'll find it so much easier than any other method.
  4. iroquail

iroquail New Member

I agree about firstly getting a midi keyboard. Helps if you can play it too. But whats the trick to doing guitar parts on midi? How do you get the strumming effect for instance? Guitar chords are voiced differently aren't they?
  5. Graeme

Graeme New Member