i need help in midi sequencing

Discussion in 'General Sequencing' started by beerbelly, Sep 4, 2002.

1. beerbelly

beerbelly New Member

hey there.

i'm kinda new to this midi stuff and all. just wanted to know if anyone out there could help me.

i'm a guitarist and i'm having a hard time sequencing songs using a keyboard. is there any way that i can use my guitar to do sequencing.

i'm using cakewalk pro audio 9 and a yamaha PSR-540. but i'm no keyboard player so i'm really having a hard time. if any of you guys out there know of how i can use my guitar for sequencing, please advise me. TNX!!!
    Marty White likes this.
  2. The Keeper

The Keeper The Keeper

you can use a guitar for sequencing, although I haven't done it, I use keys. I think you have to buy some sort of pickup for the guitar that converts the sound signal into midi. Check out the local music shops they should be able to tell you. I had a look at one a couple of years ago, guitar is timecomsuming when programming it as a midifile, the pickup and software was $250(australian) but it is probably cheaper now. Alternatively, try band in a box, or jammer, they are programs that give you heaps of bars of different styles that change randomly, you pick the style that suits the song you are doing, and change the keys of each bar, does the bass, keyboards, strings, for you. You end up with a complete song that sounds reasonably close to the one you want to program. hope this helps :):)
  3. beerbelly

beerbelly New Member

tnx

tnx merlin. i'll give it a go. but when you say time consuming, what do you mean?

isn't it just a plug and play kind of stuff. install the pickup then hook it up to the PC and then play away?

anyway, i'll try the other ones you recommended. tnx again.:thumbsup:
  4. bigbaddonwong

bigbaddonwong New Member

I don't know if this is of any help but.........