Is there a SIMPLE solution to this?

Discussion in 'General Sequencing' started by JOleg, May 30, 2006.

1. JOleg

JOleg New Member

Hi guys,

new here. First question would be, what is this pointless FAQ for? :
    http://board.midibuddy.net/misc.php?s=&action=faq

It has nothing but explanation of smilies in it :rolleyes: :?:

Second. I did a search on the forum and found two answers to my question, but they don't satisfy me (unfortunately).

The question is - how can I simply merge two or more premade MIDI files (in specific order) into one larger MIDI file without getting lost in those huge programs like cakewalk, cubase or whatever? I don't need no professional tool, I'm a musician (no I mean I am not a musican as in "I do it for the living", I just play in a band as a hobby), I use free Power Tab Editor to write down notes of my music. Since PTE is limited, it can't import one project into another, and editing of existing project files is complicated, so I tend to keep each riff in its own file even if all of them pertain to one song. But then I want to assemble all them into one track, how can I do that easily?? Like, make up a *list* of MIDI files, then press magic button and it merges them in the sequence they are listed in and outputs as a single MIDI file? Is there no simple way? If there isn't, maybe you could give me some specs on the midi file format and I would write the program myself, and of course released it as a freeware so others didn't have to buy full blown midi makers for this silly task? ;)

I would appreciate any and all help,
    Oleg
    Last edited: May 30, 2006
  2. Ronny

Ronny Midi Mad Super Mod! Staff Member Super Mod

The easiest programme I have found for this is here http://www.jazzware.com/zope