Just My 2 Cents..

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by iggywh, Nov 15, 2003.

1. iggywh

iggywh New Member

Coming from someone who's dealt with similar problems maybe I can help shed some light...

I'm an admin on a sports card trading site and we use vB 2.2.9. We have something similar to MB cash... we call it CC (stands for Card Cash). You then could use the CC to buy various sports cards we had in our "store". When we first started, you had 2 ways of getting CC. You got 1 CC per post and you got 30 CC per referral. We went through such hell for like 5 months untill we changed the system.

Knowing how people work, I'm sure you're getting referrals like crazy now. If you look at them, you see that they are "fake" signups just to get MB Cash. You'll also have a TON of junk posts coming now. People will give 1-2 word replies and start meaningless threads just to get MB Cash. Your board will be full of junk very soon.

Sure the point of this board is to share tones... but some people are just flat out clueless when it comes to a computer. Should they be screwed because of that? No... that's not fair. You are going to lose a HUGE part of your members base if you continue with this. Best of luck... but if it was me, I'd change things quick before people leave for good.

Just my 2 cents,
    Iggy!

P.S. If you're interested in a QUALITY sports card trading website drop me a PM and I'll hook you up with a link. I would post it here but that ain't cool spamming your site on other people's forums.
  2. iggywh

iggywh New Member

The post right above mine is a perfect example of what your board will be filled up with in the coming days. With 35,000 members (I don't know how many of those are actually active though) your Mod team is in for some long nights!
  3. Si

Si Super Moderator Staff Member Super Mod

..has been deleted.
  4. Si

We get junk posts all the time anyway - before we introduced the Midis for $MB. We have to try these things out.
  5. iggywh