Kazaa, Peer 2 Peer, Spyware and You...

Discussion in 'Computers' started by theARTiSAN, May 6, 2003.

  1. syx

    syx New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just a point: Spy-bot (http://spybot.eon.net.au/) will find far more spyware than ad-aware will. :)

    Also, try using IRC for downloads, once I started I've never been back to a P2P program.
  2. BlackLuke

    BlackLuke New Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I use Ad-Aware 6, too its a very good "anti-spy-ware-program" ;)

    and its easy^^:rolleyes: :rolleyes:
  3. cjaycee

    cjaycee New Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Spy-bot works incredibly well. I've had to use it with computers infected with trojans and it detected it. I'd recommend using it instead of ad-aware as it can see stuff in realtime when you leave it in the background.
  4. rknrne

    rknrne Active Member

    Messages:
    2,371
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    today I'm being asked to dl my 'free' {spy-ware nuker} ....

    Ever hear of it?
  5. VivaSMH

    VivaSMH New Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, for some programs, if you remove the spyware like WeatherCast, the program malfunctions. Any tips and advice for that?
  6. theARTiSAN

    theARTiSAN Administrator Staff Member Super Mod

    Messages:
    4,898
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You can try to prevent it by mapping it through your firewall.
    Allowing only the necessary connections - which can be a little hard if everything is port 80 traffic... You have to figure out what outbound address does what.

    Otherwise, find and use only software that does not contain spyware - try to steer clear of applications that include bad components, or even have a cracked/fixed/lite version. If you use bad software like that (even fixed versions) you're supporting their logic that it is a good idea.
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2003
  7. koji2004

    koji2004 New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    you get alot of stuff there!
  8. VivaSMH

    VivaSMH New Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hmm...but wouldn't blocking the program from accessing the net prevent the program to not work properly as well? For example, if you don't allow SAVE to access the net, NetPumper won't work properly. =(
  9. xbaylix

    xbaylix New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thx a great bunch for the tip!!
  10. theARTiSAN

    theARTiSAN Administrator Staff Member Super Mod

    Messages:
    4,898
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Every case is different. Nothing 'always' or 'never' works.
    Sometimes you can block different ports, sometimes all traffic is on same port, but different addresses - sometimes you can remove the components and it works fine... You just have to check it out and play with it.

    I would advise not using software with spy/adware in it at all...
    Technically, we shouldn't use lite or cracked versions either - because even though we aren't having to deal with the spyware, we become a statistic on their network traffic- which tells them that their spyware crap is not a problem, and must be working.
    There are alternatives for everything... NetPumper is good, but there are several others that don't have spyware included.
  11. Nookie 3:16®

    Nookie 3:16® Battousai: MIDI Slasher

    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i used a program called spybot search and destroy which removed all spyware, trojans and kept kazaa running smoothly.
  12. jadakiss

    jadakiss New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hey safe for the info, but whats the difference between kazaa lite and normal kazaa
  13. theARTiSAN

    theARTiSAN Administrator Staff Member Super Mod

    Messages:
    4,898
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Kazaa has spyware in it - Kazaa Lite doens't have spyware.
  14. saxmidiman

    saxmidiman Member

    Messages:
    946
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I would tend to use Spybot. It's seems to have a user friendly interface and it catches quite a lot. Oh, by the way, it's free.
  15. aka_sparks

    aka_sparks New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    wow that answers some questions. I'm glad a buddy told me about kazaa lite last year... it's been wonderful. Thanks for the big happy info :)
  16. theARTiSAN

    theARTiSAN Administrator Staff Member Super Mod

    Messages:
    4,898
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Keep in Mind that Kazaa (lite or not) Morpheus and all the other generic, well-traveled p2p networks are being very closely watched by all kinds of agencies... They are getting more aggressive in prosecuting, tattling to ISPs on users (violating TOCs)...

    Be very careful (not just for viruses) when you grab movies, music or applications/programs.

    You might want to try out Direct Connect HUBS or IRC Channels instead.
  17. brendan b

    brendan b New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    what about kazaa lite?
  18. Zandro

    Zandro New Member

    Messages:
    3,844
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Already discussed.
  19. thatJoshGuy

    thatJoshGuy New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    some ppl got busted for downloading stuff of a proggie called bittorrent - so i dunno, might wanna watch out if youre using this one as well
  20. Zandro

    Zandro New Member

    Messages:
    3,844
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It is only illegal if you are downloading copyrighted material using Bit Torrent. Otherwise, Bit Torrent is absolutely safe.

Share This Page