Korg Trinity and Cubase

Discussion in 'Sequencing Hardware' started by willi001, Jul 21, 2002.

1. willi001

willi001 New Member

Hello everybody,
    I am new to MidiBuddy and wanted to ask if any one else was working with a Korg Trinity. It is an excellent sequencer and great for working on all kinds of stuff. I have a question about drum tracks. I can't get any of the kits in the Trinity to synq up with the drums off a standard midi file....Does any one know if this is even possible? What I do now is delete the drums and rebuild them myself on the trinity. I use cubase for some editing but with the Trinity's powerful editing features I do most of the work on the keyboard itself...
    Thanks in advance, Willi...
  2. Declan

Declan New Member

I have the same problem using the TR rack with cubase.
    It's annoying as I will also rebuild the drums from scratch. I'll be speaking to a friend at Korg UK soon to see if its possible to sync it up properly. In the meantime try the following:
    I've read that the drum kit is out by an octave(12 notes), so ty grabbing all notes in each track from within Cubase and transpose that track up by a single octave This is supposed to work but If it does'nt i'll get back to you with further info.
  3. Declan

Declan New Member

Trinity and Cubase(midi)

Ok willi,
    The basic thing that I have been told is that the Trinity or the TR-Rack were never designed to work with General Midi. They are considered too professional for that, so its going to take a bit of work to adjust to working with drum tracks and Cubase.
    Firstly, do you have the floppy disks that came with the Trinity?
    There apparently is a general Midi drum map on one of the floppy disks. If you have the manual it should refer to this on page 74.
    Otherwise, you'll have to manually select the sound for each channel (remove the program changes embedded in the midi data before playing back), and then you'll have to set up your own compatible drum kit.