newbie too

Discussion in 'Getting Started/New Member Help' started by Luiza*Cunha, Sep 27, 2003.

1. Luiza*Cunha

Luiza*Cunha Charmed Trainee with Goa'uld inside! Staff Member Super Mod

Hello there,
    I'm kind of new to this mid thing and I'm seeking guidance.
    I've been using Cakewalk to make experiments in creating mids and I'm disappointed with the results I've got so far.
    Is there anyone out there who could enlighten me on what kind of sound card should I have to get the best of my mid files?
  2. jeaniesing

jeaniesing Super Moderator Staff Member Super Mod

Tell us a little about HOW you create or WHAT it is that disappoints you.... There're MANY sequencers here that could help in MANY ways :)

I use Soundblaster and am quite happy with the quality :)
  3. Luiza*Cunha

Hi jeaniesing,
    Thank you for replying.
    I've been trying to create my own playbacks for my singing classes. I made one (It's a hard life - Queen) and some instruments don't sound much like an acoustic one would. I know I won't get perfection but I've seen some playbacks made this way that are much better than mine. My sound card is a SoundBlaster PCI128. Was it my inexperience or the card? :(
  4. Zandro

Zandro New Member

The quality of instruments depends on the synthesiser you use. I recommend you buy a $30 US Sound Blaster Live! card for its SoundFont support. Read here for more information on SoundFont, or ask me specific questions.
  5. Luiza*Cunha

Thanks Zandro,
    I'll go check on this soundfont thing and I might bother you later with one or two silly questions, if you really don't mind :)
    By the way, being silly already, is Cakewalk 9 a good program for editing or would you recommend any other?
  6. Zandro

Zandro New Member

I would be more than glad to help you with SoundFont. Later, if you need a GM instrument bank, you can call on me to send you one custom compiled.