pc vs. mac

Discussion in 'General Sequencing' started by nixo3, Apr 27, 2004.

1. nixo3

nixo3 New Member

i am an audio production student who is trying to set things up at home. this is my first thread at midibuddy. i have very little experience but i am working on a power mac g4. i have an evolution mk-449c midi controller made by m-audio. i would like to get that old-school sound that most hip hop music is missing now-a-days. i have looked at some vintage drum pads but most of them that come with software of course were made for pc's. what can i do to se the older equipment in my set up? what other equipment will i need in order to set one up and send the midi back and forth from my computer to my drum pad? i know i can use the drum basically as a trigger for other midi stuff and that will allow me to do things i wouldnt be able to for such little money. what do you guys suggest? i will be making instrumentals via programs (either cubase or logic--what should i get?) and also recording vocals. i would like to do both with one program although i was told i will need quite a nice soud card. well i know that is a lot but any help i can get, although i am basically asking for you guys to help create my set up!
  2. nixo3

nixo3 New Member

no love?----HELP ME PLEASE!
  3. alycia

alycia New Member

sry can't help...good luck with your songs though
  4. Rich_b

Rich_b Bass Cadet

If you're serious it *might*be worth getting a PC. At least then you know the software is around for it and finding the right software will be harder than finding a PC?

Card-wise the Creative Platinum Live! is pretty good, has aux, optical. SPDIF, Midi and a guitar jack input. Don't know if they make cards for Macs tho.
  5. dirtbiker245

dirtbiker245 New Member

pc rules all.
    Those with a mac have not the courage to use a REAL computer.
  6. georg001

georg001 New Member