Please Please Help !

Discussion in 'Getting Started/New Member Help' started by lcc, Aug 19, 2008.

1. lcc

lcc New Member

Hi good people, im in a bit of a tizzy here & any help will be most appreciated.
    First off, im a complete MIDI newbie & have bought a Roland pc-160a that had no cable & the Roland has only a MIDI out so will USB cable be ok & do i need anything else ?
    Secondly, can anyone run me through the whole thing as iv'e stated i dont have a single clue where to start, & iv'e been reading websites & forums for the last week & i still dont know where to start = what software = how to use ?

Sorry if posting in the wrong place etc or asking completely obv questions but i dont have a clue where to even begin , any info will be most gratefull & hopefully oneday be a valid member of the site !!!

Kind Hopefull Regards

LCC :)
  2. makomako

makomako New Member

I am new to midis to but I don't have a key board or anything like that. as for software, I use finale notepad. You can use it to create and play midi files. to save as a midi you have to use a loop hole. you go to save as and choose midi.
  3. lcc

lcc New Member

Cheers mate, still dont know how to play anything on it ! I was using fruityloops last night & my USB out light was blinking when i was playing my song but nothing at all was happening when pressing the MIDI ! Its all double dutch to me & iv'e been at it solid for 2week now hehe ! I'll keep trying :eek:
  4. evrysnwztake

evrysnwztake New Member

why are midi key boards so hard to use im about to sell my akai mpk49 for $300
    and i bought it about 2 weeks ago for 400
  5. brc 103

brc 103 New Member

seems to me that isn't good business.

I suppose this credit crunch has affected us all - hey at least we don't have swine flu. Can we get oinkment for that lol
  6. Cornet Nev

Cornet Nev New Member