Sound Blaster Live

Discussion in 'Digital Audio & Recording' started by jukebox604, Nov 12, 2002.

1. jukebox604

jukebox604 New Member

Hi I am just getting into MIDI play back and was curious what is the best sound card out there in the consumer market for play back?

Thanks.
  2. malsony

malsony New Member

i know that the pro guys are not using SB Live!, they use the more professional audio cards!

i am using SB Live! 5.1 bought in HongKong, i am chinese, living in Mainland China.

i think this SB Live! 5.1 is ok, i am content.

however, some friends of mine (producers in records companies) are using the very audio card SB Live! 5.1!
  3. Subwoofer

Subwoofer New Member

The soundblaster is very good for games.:)
  4. jo blo

jo blo New Member

soundblaster is ok for straight recording but that is all , if you want to play virtual synths you'll havt to go pro.
  5. Jobu

Jobu New Member

I use an old SBlive Mp3+ to monitor playing of miditracks in conjuction with free soundfonts (which are wave samples of instruments) I downloaded on the net. Beats the heck out of GM sounds and the $1k+ synth I used to use. I am sure there are better sounding solutions out there but i doubt I could get them at a price of < $80.

P.S. if you want a professional recording card I wouldnt suggest an SBlive, they are noisy. Another cheap solution without having to buy another sound card would be to try something like http://home.att.net/~audiocompositor/ with some free GM set soundfonts that can be downloaded from the net.
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2002
  6. hui4o

hui4o New Member

try soundblaster audigy.It's realy good for the money.Best money / quality balance.
  7. gazza_guitar

gazza_guitar New Member

try some of the yamaha xg cards verry good sound
  8. tripex

tripex New Member