Trouble Connecting Keyboard To PC

Discussion in 'Getting Started/New Member Help' started by Reaver, Nov 6, 2005.

1. Reaver

Reaver New Member

Trouble Connecting Yamaha EZ-30 To PC

I hope you lovely people can help me out with this one as I'm completely lost with it now. I'll admit, I'm a newbie to keyboards so pleae excuse me if I mention something that makes me look a fool :rolleyes2

I'm trying to connect my Yamaha EZ-30 to my PC but my PC isn't seeing it at all. I'm using the most common of connections (according to my supplier) which is 2 midi connectors In/Out which connects to my soundcards joystick/midi port.
    I've downloaded the latest Song Filer v2 software from Yamaha and I've setup the Midi port settings to encorporate my soundcard and I get an error message when I click "Transmit" which says to check that the keyboardd is properly connected and the HOST SELECT is properly switched.
    As far as I've sussed out, my keyboard doesn't have a host select switch and I've been told it should connect up straight away with no problems :rolleyes2

I'm trying to connect to a pc running Windows XP Pro with a Hercules Digifire 7.1 Soundcard. I've installed the lastest drivers and the problem is still the same. I've also tried connecting to another pc with a Soundblaster live 1024 and I get the same error message that it can't connect.

Am I doing something wrong? I've even tried XG Gold and it'll play a midi file on my pc but as soon as I tell it to output out of the midi port, I lose the sound and the keyboard doesn't play anything so it's definitely a connectivity problem :flamemad:

Can someone please point me in the right direction? The keyboard works great as a standalone machine but I'd like to send some midi files to it so I can learn to play them.

Thanks for reading and I eagerly await your help :cool:
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2005
  2. Reaver

Reaver New Member