What is the best hardware for inputting MIDI?

Discussion in 'General Sequencing' started by palumbor, Nov 25, 2003.

1. palumbor

palumbor New Member

What does everyone think about the best hardware for inputting midi's? I am new to it and would like to learn a bit.
  2. frchung

frchung New Member

Best hardware, hmm that's very subjective.... As long as you are comfortable with it, that's the best.

I'm using cakewalk as sequencer, so to input the midi notes, I record "live" from the keyboard, then followed by a quantization. But for drums tracks, I use the piano roll mostly to "draw" the notes :)
  3. Ralon

Ralon New Member

I use Cakewalk now its cool and yeah its a good idea too use an actual keyboard to input midis using a midi cable to your computers joystick port
  4. Graeme

Graeme New Member

That's a bit of an odd question :) .

I suppose the simple answer has to be another question - what instrument do you play best? Whatever it is, use that.

Most instruments can be midi'ised (if that's a word). Obviously, if you play a keyboard instrument, you're more than half-way there, but you can use guitar (using pitch to midi conversion - not an exact science, but a lot of people seem to get away with it).

Alternatively, a guitarist might like to look at the Ztar - sort of guitar shaped keyboard instrument. Not cheap, but well worth every penny it costs.

You can get midi violins and wind instruments - in truth the world's your oyster.
  5. jamaicapepe

jamaicapepe New Member

try a midi interface!!!!
  6. bnjiman80

bnjiman80 Tangled Up In Blue

Nice Idea

hehe, well I think you should point out that it cost $2,695 in 2001 dude lol

http://onstagemag.com/ar/performance_performance_tools_yamaha/index.htm