Which OS do YOU use?

Discussion in 'General Sequencing' started by CyberCat, Feb 26, 2003.

  1. CyberCat

    CyberCat Active Member

    Messages:
    3,100
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Hi,

    I'm a musican and I use the Windows 2000 OS when I compose my music.
    It seens to work allright.
    But I'm just wondering which OS everyone else is using. And any comments (good and bad) that anybody might have about the OS the they use.

    Thank You!

    :thumbsup:
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2003
  2. naleca

    naleca Trash Hunting

    Messages:
    1,252
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    I have tried all operating systems and think Win 98SE is the best of them all
  3. merrini

    merrini New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think windows 2000 is the best. My friend a big comp dude and programmer says Win2000 is nearly bullet proof -- for a PC operating system anyway.
  4. BlackHawk

    BlackHawk New Member

    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I personally use Windows XP Pro.... but I guess it's all down to personal taste. For me, Win XP Pro is a (rather surprisingly) rock solid OS for the things I do.
  5. Ralph'e'

    Ralph'e' www.ralphe.tk

    Messages:
    3,323
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    win xp, and it sux 4 midi compatibility!!!
  6. ZelRiptha

    ZelRiptha Thnow White but I drifted Staff Member Super Mod

    Messages:
    7,535
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Owie, what compatibility issues are you finding? (I'm running XpPro meself...)
  7. Ralph'e'

    Ralph'e' www.ralphe.tk

    Messages:
    3,323
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    well, xp cant seem to pick up my MIDI in out cable thru the joystick port..

    I cant record my keyboard to my sequencer! arg!
  8. ZelRiptha

    ZelRiptha Thnow White but I drifted Staff Member Super Mod

    Messages:
    7,535
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Arg, indeed!
  9. Si

    Si Super Moderator Staff Member Super Mod

    Messages:
    8,848
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've had no problems running XP and sequencing. Everything works fine :)
  10. bboydtermin

    bboydtermin New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    to a frogg007 dude, about your problem i think i do have a solution for you!! i used to have problem just like you until i called technical support, and they gave me a solution, and it works i'm so suprise!!becuz of all 2 days i been figuring out continuously but still can't make it!
    anyway i'm having ez30 yamaha keyboard so...I don't know if this instruction work for your computer or not...but..just give it a shot anyway right?
    CABLE CONNECTIONS

    Connecting a Yamaha TW6MC1 ‘Joystick to MIDI’ Cable:
    1) Insert the 15-pin plug of the ‘Joystick to MIDI’ cable into the 15-pin MIDI/Joystick port on
    the computer soundcard.

    2) Connect the MIDI plug labeled 'MIDI IN' to the MIDI OUT connection of the Yamaha MIDI
    instrument.

    3) Connect the MIDI plug labeled 'MIDI OUT' to the MIDI IN connection of the Yamaha MIDI
    instrument.

    NOTE: The above connection procedures apply to the Yamaha TW6MC1 cable. Most third party ‘Joystick to MIDI’ cables use the same setup procedure as described above. However, some cables may have different connectivity requirements.

    Connecting a Yamaha UX16 ‘USB-MIDI Interface’:
    1) Connect the MIDI plug labeled 'MIDI IN' to the MIDI OUT connection of the Yamaha MIDI
    instrument.

    2) Connect the MIDI plug labeled 'MIDI OUT' to the MIDI IN connection of the Yamaha MIDI
    instrument.

    3) The rectangular USB plug of the UX16 must be plugged into a USB port on the computer,
    however this step is performed during the USB Driver installation. See ‘Installing the
    Yamaha USB Driver in Windows (for UX16 ‘USB-MIDI Interface’)’ below.

    NOTE: The above connection procedures apply to the Yamaha UX16. Most other ‘USB-MIDI Interfaces’ use the same procedure as described above. However, some may have slightly different connectivity requirements.



    right right now i'm running win xp home edition in my computer, it running pretty sweet! especially when u have alot of rams(i have 1 gig total of ddr ram and 1700xp amd athlon processor) and it pretty fast!.
  11. ziophase

    ziophase New Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Windows MX or 2000
  12. Angelus

    Angelus Angel Of Love

    Messages:
    464
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    no problem with xp pro too
    it rox!
  13. ovineworrier

    ovineworrier New Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Win98SE? ::shudders:: I still cringe when I think back to the time it decided not to recognise any of my midi gear or audiocards half an hour before a concert. I bought Win2K Pro the next day, bit the bullet and invested in NT compatible audio cards and midi interface and subsequently had no issues upgrading to XP Pro when I purchased Cubase SX. Fingers crossed, it's been a stable bunny ever since. :D
  14. trunksdbzgt

    trunksdbzgt New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Windows XP pro, i like this by far.
  15. da_dumb_bell

    da_dumb_bell New Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  16. cake-raider

    cake-raider New Member

    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i, on the same hard drive have WIN ME and WIN 2000. they both handle it well
  17. abs

    abs New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    win xp

    win xp is by far much quicker/optimised than win2000. the trick is to streamline - get rid of all the gizmos and new XP task bars etc. when you have finished, it should look like a win2000 install but run heaps quicker. good luck
  18. dgamos

    dgamos New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't have any problems now but I have done in the passt with XP but they may have been down to the user and not the machine!
  19. carbon

    carbon New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    definately winxppro
  20. eireboy

    eireboy New Member

    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    have xp on one computer and 98 on my other. prefer 98 still, dont really like xp

Share This Page