Who here uses sequencing w/their live band?

Discussion in 'General Sequencing' started by non_prophet, Nov 2, 2003.

1. non_prophet

non_prophet Guest

Just curious what your setup and setlist is. I'm new to this so any feedback is appreciated. I plan on using sonar with a combo of midi and actual recorded parts (background vox, second guitar part, etc.) and then burning to minidisc. My band consists drums, guitar, bass and keyboard doing all covers. please share your experiences! do you typically program the sequences yourself or buy them?
    TIA,
    shaun
  2. voice of god

voice of god Prodigal Pyjamas Pervert Staff Member Super Mod

well Im in a duo - two gutiarist/singers and use midi for drums and bass

seems to me if u got a 4 piece already u wouldnt need midi, but then it could make u sound even better. May be limiting though in the fact that u have to stick to the format of the midi

and what about a click track for the drummer, how would u do that when its on minidisc??

I program some sequences myself and get some off the net
  3. lefty42

lefty42 New Member

my experience with mini disc/click track is to use a mono backing track with the click on the other side .
    then a headphone amp panned hard to the click for the drummer
    i've sequenced 3 sydney bands like that
    they tell me it works pretty good
    hope this is of some use to someone
    lefty out
  4. jackmarshal

jackmarshal New Member

hi VOG
    for live MIDIS I use a Yamaha PSR 740 on top of an old Roland rd 300s The piano top is flat so the Yamaha sits right on top. The Yamaha has a floppy drive that plays my MIDIS. I pan the sounds I play live hard left through my keyboard amp out of one stereo out on the Yamaha. Al my MIDI tracks are panned hard right out the other audio out on the Yamaha going direct to the PA That way I get discreet signals. One to my amp and one to the mains.