yamaha Qy 300 problems getting formatted midi files from pc

Discussion in 'Sequencing Hardware' started by Rachel69, Nov 27, 2003.

1. Rachel69

Rachel69 New Member

Hi, I have a Qy300 yamaha Sequencer which I have mastered in creating files, but when I download a midi file off the net and try to put on floppy disc, I am told that the format is incompatible. Its very frustrating as I am a professional performer and my poor audience is getting very bored with the same 600 odd songs that they are hearing over and over again. Can someone please help me as I am rather new to using a pc and the internet... Thankyou
  2. bnjiman80

bnjiman80 Tangled Up In Blue

tough one!

Hi Rachel

I kinda feel I might be able to help, as I had the same problem with the QY100 box I'm using.

I took 5mins looking on the 'web, but couldn't find any product reviews of your hardware...it was made in '94 though so its not surprising I guess.

You need to find out what level of midi files your hardware supports. To my puny knowledge, you have

midi type 0
    midi type 1 (includes track header information, or something)
    xg midi (includes special commands that non-xg hardware won't like)
    roland midi? don't know but I'm guessing
    ...others :p

1. I guess that most midis on the 'net are probably type 1. Assuming your gear supports type 1, then it might be unhappy because some midi files contain system-exclusive (sys-ex) code that it can't "play". Example: my box might have a certain code to add some effect after a note, that your box wouldn't understand (and vice-versa). ("XG" includes a whole load of extra voices too, which don't work on non-XG devices)